Member Spotlight: Brandon Lacy

Blue and Orange Color Blocks Photo Frame Just Sold Postcard (10)

Law School Graduation Date: 2003

What is the last book you read? The Splendid and the Vile, Erik Larson

What are your favorite hobbies? Anything my kids are interested in, which right now means baseball and dancing; hunting and fishing.

What made you choose to work in the Plaintiff’s bar? The realization that I only had to answer to my client, a human being, not a corporate structure or a firm, and that I could decide for myself (in consultation with the client) how best to pursue that person’s case without having to committee every decision.

Share your favorite story/experience practicing law: Hard to say, I recently had the pleasure of texting to my client after I received confirmation from the defense attorney that we reached a deal after-hours: Congratulations you just took care of both of your children’s college tuition.” That was something my client was worried about and it felt really good to relieve that concern.
I’ve also got a story of a case where, in the middle of the trial, the insurance adjuster who had been sitting in the courtroom made an offer that I recommended my client take. She asked for a few minutes in the jury room to “make a call.” I assumed she was calling a family member for advice. When I returned, she asked me if I knew what “a profit” was, and my mind turned immediately to the profit I was losing every minute we continued to stand inside the jury room debating a settlement that I knew my client should take. However, when my mind focused on the words she was saying, I realized she was referencing a “prophet,” and that she had been consulting with a Vegas 1-800 prophet while I was out of the room. The prophet told her not to take the settlement because he predicted she would receive an unreasonably large amount from the jury. I asked her if the prophet had an Arkansas law license, and if so the prophet needed to fly over from Vegas and try her case to a Crittenden County jury because there was no way she was getting that much. She eventually accepted, but it wasn’t easy arguing with a prophet.

Who is your favorite musician or band? Dave Matthews Band

Why did you join ATLA? I went to a convention and was hooked.

What keeps you engaged in ATLA? Continuing education, plus the ability to remain on the front lines of political issues that impact the practice of law.

What is the most important reason to join ATLA? Relationships

Favorite quote: “Success is not final; failure is not fatal. It is the courage to continue that counts” Winston Churchill
“I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength.” Phillippians 4:13

Leave a comment