Member Spotlight: Taylor King

Blue and Orange Color Blocks Photo Frame Just Sold Postcard (12)

Law School Graduation Date: University of Arkansas School of Law (December 1985)

What is the last book you read? The Last Trial by Scott Turow

What are your favorite hobbies? Playing golf, reading, and (most recently) chicken farming.

What made you choose to work in the Plaintiff’s bar? I wanted to help people in real, tangible ways.

Share your favorite story/experience practicing law: My first jury trial victory representing an auto crash victim gave me great joy and a feeling of accomplishment. That trial would have been in the early ’90s. The jury actually gave my client what I asked them to award. I’d not yet joined ATLA and I was unaware of the vast resources available thru ATLA and the American Trial Lawyers Association (now AAJ). I started my law firm in 1994 and soon thereafter joined ATLA. We have accomplished so much in the past 26 years: we’ve represented thousands of clients and enjoyed numerous victories, but I think the joy, pride, and happiness I felt walking out of that courthouse with my first victory (small as it was) cannot be matched.

Who is your favorite musician or band? It’s a tie between Glen Campbell and Jackson Browne.

Why did you join ATLA? I was wandering in the legal desert looking for serious career direction before Randy Hill invited me to an ATLA convention in Eureka Springs.  ATLA, then, became my oasis.

What keeps you engaged in ATLA? The belief that ATLA is the last, best guardian of justice standing as the gatekeeper against forces calling for unjust tort reform.

What is the most important reason to join ATLA? Information

Favorite quote: “We must, indeed, all hang together or, most assuredly, we shall all hang separately.” -Benjamin Franklin

Leave a comment